Essence Glossy Lip Balm Review

Essence Glossy Lip Balm ReviewEssence Glossy Lip Balm Mint Drop Essence Glossy Lip Balm Review - Strawberry Cheescake - MangoEssence Glossy Lip Balm Mango Ice Cream ReviewEssence Glossy Lip Balm Review

Essence Glossy Lip Balm Review *

 We all love a bit of Essence, it’s the ‘beauty bloggers‘ affordable make-up brand and when you can get such a variety of products for more of less under £10 – why not?

In this post I’ll be writing about the Essence Glossy Lip Balms – they’re small, compact, cute and lovely! 🙂

Essence Glossy Lip Balm Review – Packaging

You all know that I’m a fan of colourful products and these are no exception at all, they’re incredibly bright and cute to look at plus each one has it’s own ‘theme‘ and matches the ingredient mentioned on the packaging which is another lovely touch.

I also really like that it’s in a tube – it’s a lot more hygienic than using wands or pots and you can easily apply on the go, pop into your handbag and apply as needed during the day. 🙂

Essence Glossy Lip Balm Review – Texture

I really have no idea why Essence have called these Lip ‘Balms‘ as they’re exactly like a gloss, they act like a gloss and look like a gloss, even though they’re nourishing I wouldn’t call them a balm – I use them as a lip gloss!

For me a balm is quite lightweight with very little / no colour and also something which can be used as a night treatment too – these can’t be used like that as they’re a lot thicker than a balm and they have shimmer/colour in them too!

Essence Glossy Lip Balm Review – Scent

Leaving the packaging to one side, this is the best thing about these!

Each one has certain ingredients listed on the front, one is mango, one is strawberry, the other chocolate and so on…..when you smell the products you’ll fall in love as its actually like smelling the real thing!

The Mango and strawberry is incredibly fresh and fruity, the chocolate is quite rich but not at all sickly……I mean put it this way – if I closed my eyes and had the real thing in front of me and the lip glosses – it would be a really close call as to which is the real one…. they smell that good!

Essence Glossy Lip Balm Review – Overall

Overall I really do like these and yes I might not use them as a ‘balm‘ but I do use them as a gloss, they’re lovely to use along or over a lip colour for extra shine and moisture.

If you’re looking for an affordable lip product to use everyday then these are perfect, coming in a number of shades, they’re really adorable – pop into your handbag and use on the go.

Essence Glossy Lip Balm Review – Purchase

You can purchase these from Wilko’s for just £1 each – I mean….hello bargain! 🙂

Click HERE to view/purchase them online!

So, as always let me know what you think….have you tried these before or is it something you’ve seen and want to try?

Follow:
Share:

47 Comments

  1. 3rd November 2014 / 5:45 pm

    I’d like to try the berry or the cherry one! They look really cute!

    • sprinkles
      Author
      5th November 2014 / 11:16 pm

      They are gorgeous – you’ll love them! 🙂 xxx

  2. 30th October 2014 / 3:35 pm

    Yummy, such a nice colors and flavours =)

    • sprinkles
      Author
      5th November 2014 / 12:02 am

      Yummy yes!!!! Ha 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      30th October 2014 / 1:17 am

      They are!! 🙂 xxx

  3. 27th October 2014 / 11:44 pm

    Great review! I love lip balms.

    • sprinkles
      Author
      30th October 2014 / 1:03 am

      Thank you xxx

  4. 26th October 2014 / 1:57 pm

    never heard of this brand, but those gloses are just oh-so-cute! thanks for your review. this looks like a fun product 🙂

    • sprinkles
      Author
      27th October 2014 / 6:43 pm

      Hahaha aren’t they adorable!! 🙂 xxx

  5. 25th October 2014 / 7:17 pm

    Lovely! Here in Dublin my lips are ALWAYS dry. I think it’s because of the weather, but the only thing that helps my lips is Bepanthol.
    BTW, nice review, maybe I can give it a try, right? 😉

    XoXo
    Nath | http://www.fashionjacket.com.br

    • sprinkles
      Author
      27th October 2014 / 5:55 pm

      Hahaha – yes you can definitely give these a go, they’ll really help!! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      27th October 2014 / 12:50 am

      Thank you – yes really lovely! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      26th October 2014 / 6:03 pm

      Definitely – let me know what you get!!!! 🙂 xxx

  6. Kate
    24th October 2014 / 1:22 pm

    I hardly know anything about Essence. These look really cute and I love the idea of an inexpensive gloss that’s easy to carry around. Will be trying these out for sure – at that price it would be rude not to! x

    Kate Louise Blogs

    • sprinkles
      Author
      26th October 2014 / 6:01 pm

      They are gorgeous and for the price it’s great – seeing as you don’t know much about them just pop into a local Wilko’s store and have a look…everything is so pretty and so cheap hahaha 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      26th October 2014 / 5:56 pm

      Yaaay – let me know what you think if you do get it! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      26th October 2014 / 5:53 pm

      thank you very much xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      27th October 2014 / 1:00 am

      Hahaha – exactly!!!! 🙂 xxx

  7. 23rd October 2014 / 9:14 pm

    OMG these are so, so gorgeous! Absolutely love the pretty packaging xo

    Sophie | soinspo <3

    • sprinkles
      Author
      25th October 2014 / 10:49 pm

      Hahaha aren’t they just adorable!!! 🙂
      xxxx

  8. 23rd October 2014 / 8:17 pm

    Dear Layla, although this product is really affordable I fear I have any use for it as I only use lipstick 🙂 But I agree, essence is such a wonderful afforable brand and I have also some products from this brand in my cosmetc bag.

    Regarding the “Layla”, my beloved cat, there is btw an additional story: our children call my cat namely “Lennard” – I don’t know why – although the orginal name is really Leyla as first we thought it’s a female cat until we discovered it’s a male cat. Nevertheless I will call my cat always “Layla” or in terms of endearment “Laylchen” 🙂

    Wish you a happy start into the weekend!

    xx from Germany/Bavaria, Rena

    http://www.dressedwithsoul.com

    • sprinkles
      Author
      25th October 2014 / 10:47 pm

      Yes, that’s true….for people who only use lipstick you won’t find any use with this but it’s very affordable and you never know…you might try and change from lipstick to gloss 😀

      Hahaha – love the story about your cat, when I read it I smiled and then started to laugh! Hope you and your family are all well!! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      25th October 2014 / 10:44 pm

      Thanks xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      25th October 2014 / 10:48 pm

      They are yes! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      25th October 2014 / 10:44 pm

      Aww thank you – yes!! So affordable! LD xxx

  9. 23rd October 2014 / 4:50 pm

    I owned essence ‘color & go’ nail polishes and loved them to bits. So I’m excited to read your review on their lip glosses! I do wonder if the formula is sticky as I loathe sticky lip glosses. You know the kind that makes your hair stick to your lips like a maniac? Haha. Thank you for sharing! 🙂 xx

    missreverie | Fashionista NOW

    • sprinkles
      Author
      26th October 2014 / 5:53 pm

      Thank you very much – hahahaa I HATE stick lip gloss too!!!! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      25th October 2014 / 10:36 pm

      😀

  10. Diana P.
    23rd October 2014 / 4:00 pm

    This is the prettiest packaging I’ve ever seen for lip glosses! I would definitely buy them for this!!! I choose the mint one, it sounds special! Which one is your most favourite?? 😀 <3

    Diana P. | Cups & Roses

    • sprinkles
      Author
      25th October 2014 / 10:35 pm

      I love them all but mango/cherry/chocolate are my favourites as they smell great and have a lovely touch of colour which give skin a lovely ‘healthy’ look too 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      26th October 2014 / 5:50 pm

      thank you xxx

  11. blois123
    23rd October 2014 / 3:54 pm

    looks great :))
    majnira.com

    • sprinkles
      Author
      26th October 2014 / 5:49 pm

      They really are great products!! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      Author
      25th October 2014 / 10:34 pm

      They are wonderful lip balms yes 🙂 xxx

Thank you for your lovely comments! :) You can also tweet @layladbeauty with any questions! x