Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Review

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 ReviewSamsung Galaxy Note 3 ReviewSamsung Galaxy Note 3 ReviewSamsung Galaxy Note 3 ReviewSamsung Galaxy Note 3 ReviewSamsung Galaxy Note 3 ReviewSamsung Galaxy Note 3 ReviewSamsung Galaxy Note 3 Review

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Review

OK, before anyone says that I’m way behind – I know….I was actually meant to write up this post in March but couldn’t find the photos for it and only today did I find them in a separate folder!

I’m not a tech-savvy geek so I won’t be using those fancy technology words BUT I will focus on all topics and try to cover as much as possible 🙂

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Review – Design

I’ve read a lot about this phone and many people don’t seem to like the design of it calling it ‘plasticky’ and ‘tacky’ but I really like it.

Personally out of all the colours the white one is the prettiest, it has a clean, lovely finish with a complimenting chrome effect on the edges which give it a high-end look.

The faux-leather back is talked about a lot too and not in a good way but I really like it, you get extra grip but the downside to it is that it could get marked/dirty quite quickly and you wouldn’t be able to wipe it as opposed to a smooth plastic back.

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Review – Screen

This is about as technical as I will get – the screen of the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 is a 5.7 inch super AMOLED screen. 🙂

It is a big phone – yes! However for us bloggers we do need a screen this size so we can easily blog on the go, keep up to date with social media, browse our favourite stores and see what other bloggers are writing about too.

If you travel a lot then the screen size will benefit you as you can watch films and play games comfortably – with a screen this size and the resolution it means all the colours are extremely vibrant and the detail is just absolutely beautiful.

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Review – Camera

The camera is the main point for me, if I can take good pictures with my phone and use them for blogging, instagram and twitter then I’m happy and the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 has a lovely 13 megapixel camera.

As you can see in the pictures above when taking a photo everything looks really beautiful, crisp and clear plus there’s SO many options to edit your photos from night mode, sport mode, macro – the list is endless!

When uploading my photos to Instagram I did find that they had a slightly pixel-y look to them and I have no idea why that happened.

In regards to the modes you can choose from that’s one major thing missing from the iPhone which Samsung has covered quite nicely.

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Review – S-Pen

Ah, this is my favourite part haha!

I absolutely love the S-pen and really hope that all phones will have this feature one day as it really does give you more control over things and allows you to become more creative with pictures, maps etc.

For us bloggers I would say that it’s a must-have….you can use your S-pen to screenshot a page, circle out things from stores, add more detail to maps, create scrapbooks and have fun with editing pictures.

There’s so many wonderful options that I wouldn’t actually be able to write them all down in this post! 🙂 and you can really create some lovely things.

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Review – Battery

We all know how horrendous the battery life is on the iPhone and I was actually pleasantly surprised at how AMAZING the battery life on the Note 3 is!

I charged the phone on the first day I go it and used it all day for emails, tweeting, pictures, gaming – I had battery saving mode switched OFF, Wifi switched ON and with heavy use it lasted me a full day, full night and the next morning I still had about 25% battery.

If you use it properly and have battery saving mode ON then I think this will easily last you 2 days without a charge and that’s a huge bonus for people on the go.

You need a phone to keep up with you and the Note 3 really does!

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Review – Overall

So overall, I really like the phone and if I was to give it a score out 10 it would be 7.5 / 8 and that’s only for the virus and the fact I couldn’t FaceTime….

The battery life is one of the main plus points and if you’re like me and on the go you need a phone that can keep up with a busy schedule and your life.

You can personalise this phone and really make it unique to you with different backgrounds, apps and accessories and if you’re tech-savvy you can definitely have fun with this! 🙂

After a few days of using the phone I kept getting pop-ups saying the phone has 2 viruses so I went back to o2 (UK provider) and asked them for help who in turn said they have never seen these specific viruses so I gave the phone back and stayed with my iPhone 4s (which I still have now) if I was a bit more tech-savvy and knew what to do to sort out the problem then I might have kept the phone.

The other downside for me was the fact that I could no longer use FaceTime and for anyone that knows me will know that I absolutely LOVE using FaceTime so that was another huge blow for me.

As mentioned I now use my iPhone 4s and after 2 years of using it I’ve NEVER had a problem with it and I think that might be something to do with Android V IOS but as mentioned I’m not tech-savvy so it could be something completely different haha!

I’m now looking forward to the iPhone 6 – if they call it that and the Samsung Note 4….I’ll be checking them both out in the next month or so when they launch! 🙂

So, let me know….what do you think of this phone?

Are you an Apple person like me or shifted to Android? Do you look for something specific in the phone or is it more the design?

Let me know!

Layla xx

Follow:
Share:

60 Comments

  1. August 16, 2014 / 7:30 pm

    If it’s anything like the first note you’re going to hate it once you’ve had it a year. The battery life will go down to about 3 hours and it’ll constantly crash, not load messages or contacts and just generally be a slow piece of rubbish.
    Sorry to put a downer on it but I was so glad when I go rid of mine!
    Megan x
    London Callings

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:58 pm

      Aww thank you so much for your comment!! I have to say I think I’m quite happy that I stuck with my iPhone but at the same time I do miss the big screen! It’s a shame to hear you had such an experience with the Note 1 – especially with the battery after this one was so good!! What phone do you have now?? xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:01 pm

      It’s a good camera yes!! Shame about the viruses on it though – back to my trusty iPhone!! It’s a lovely size and the screen is beautiful too plus it’s perfect for bloggers who are on the go!! 🙂 xxx

  2. August 16, 2014 / 8:30 pm

    Wow, thanks a brilliant for this post:). I’ve always curious about this phone, somehow I want to switch my iPhone to Samsung Galaxy, you’re right as a blogger, we are need a big screen to work during the errands running:).

    Have a great weekend:). Thank you so much for your kind words as always:).

    http://www.attraction2fashion.com

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:31 pm

      Aww thank you very much – it’s a gorgeous phone but I have switched back to my iPhone! I loved the screen size and it was perfect for using on the go and when blogging but what let it down was the fact that it got a virus…..it happened in a matter of days so sadly returned it! 🙂 xxx

  3. August 17, 2014 / 3:19 am

    I really do like this samsung, I had one once before (not the note though) and I loved it! When I moved to the UK I decided to get an iphone, but they are both great in their own ways 🙂 Xx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:36 pm

      it’s a good phone but I am now using my iPhone again and still love it purely because I’ve never had a problem with it! I’m looking forward to seeing the launch in the next month or so and will see what phone to go for – they’re both unique and quite lovely in their own way! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:40 pm

      The camera is wonderful and that’s one of the main points that I really liked about it – wonderful modes to choose from too so you can really edit your pictures and make them look great! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:41 pm

      It’s a good phone and perfect for bloggers and people on the go!!! 🙂 xxx

  4. August 17, 2014 / 4:27 pm

    Excellent review! I agree that if I were to bite the bullet and get the Samsung Galaxy Note 3, I’d definitely opt for the white version. The large screen size is perfect for on-the-go users, so bloggers could definitely benefit from this style (as you mentioned), although I can also see that alienating those who aren’t into ‘travel-teching’ very much! Thanks for this review, Layla! 🙂

    http://findmethoseheels.blogspot.co.uk/
    – I follow back on Bloglovin’ –

    x

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:43 pm

      Aww thank you very much – yes the white one is beautiful and just looks gorgeous, clean and neat! The large screen is perfect for us bloggers on the go!! The downside was the virus which came along and for that I stuck with my iPhone as I’ve never had a problem with it so it’s a shame! Looking forward to all the new launches in September now haha! 🙂 xxx

  5. August 17, 2014 / 4:53 pm

    it’s too nice this phone^_^

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:44 pm

      🙂 xx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:53 pm

      I really like Samsung but sadly got a virus on this within the first week of using it so sadly returned it! I’m back to my iPhone now and am patiently waiting for all the new launches in September!! Ah the Note is PERFECT for bloggers especially on the go and the camera is beautiful as it takes gorgeous pictures – slightly pixely when they upload onto Instagram though! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:54 pm

      Aww thank you very much!! I’m slowly getting better haha! 🙂 xxx

  6. August 18, 2014 / 12:58 am

    My boyfriend has this phone and absolutely loves it! He has the Neo Hybrid case and it makes the phone look a bit more sleek.

    daniellecaliforniaa.blogspot.com

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:57 pm

      Ah that’s so lovely to hear!! It’s a good phone but I’m not tech-savvy so the whole virus thing was too much for me and I settled for my iPhone again! Ive never had any problems with it either but the big screen, camera and battery were better but anyway – I’ll wait for the new launches in September 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:54 pm

      Thank you!! I’m back to my iPhone and am also looking forward to the two you mentioned 🙂 xxxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:56 pm

      That’s the best part hahaha – so much fun!! 🙂 xxx

  7. August 18, 2014 / 3:11 am

    This phone sounds awesome! I have always been an Iphone girl though, but if I were to switch I definitely think I would get a Galaxy!

    <3 Shannon
    upbeatsoles.blogspot.com

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:46 pm

      Aww thank you – I feel like I am more of an iPhone girl too but the Note 3 does some amazing things and has features which aren’t on the iPhone so it’s a shame but I like the simplicity more! 🙂 xx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:45 pm

      Thank you for your lovely comment!! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:26 pm

      That’s great that you like it!! I have stuck with my iPhone and am waiting to see the new launches in September!! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:22 pm

      Thank you!! 🙂 xx

  8. August 18, 2014 / 11:22 am

    I’m definitely an Apple person but I like other cell phones too! This looks great. Did I read right, this phone had a virus? Holy moly that never happens with Apple but the screen is much bigger. I like that 😀

    xx Mira

    http://www.glamdevils.com

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:24 pm

      I prefer Apple after having used the Samsung but I can definitely see it being a hit for SO many people, the battery life is great and the screen is gorgeous too!! Yes sadly it got a virus which I NEVER had on my Apple and still to this day don’t and that’s after 2 years of using it! I do prefer the bigger screen and the feel of the phone though…much nicer than the 4s! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:21 pm

      Aww thank you!! If you’re looking for a simple phone which is easy to use I would recommend Apple but if you know a little bit about technology and are used to android then go for the Samsung! 🙂 xxx

  9. August 18, 2014 / 3:56 pm

    I have to admit I’m not a a huge fan of Apple – I use a Samsung S4 and therefore I can imagine that I would like this note 3 🙂 Thanks for the review!

    xx from Germany/Bavaria, Rena

    http://www.dressedwithsoul.com

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:18 pm

      Aww thank you for your lovely comment – I am now back to my iPhone 4s and waiting for the new launches in September! I have to say the Samsung is a pretty great phone for people on the go like us bloggers who need a bigger screen and battery! If you love the Suamsung S4 then you’ll live the Note 3 as it has an S-pen too! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:17 pm

      It’s a really lovely phone and the design is lovely but I am now back to my original phone – iPhone 4s….it’s a lot easier to use but for bloggers and people who are on the go the Samsung does have all the benefits of a bigger screen etc! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:10 pm

      Aww thank you – I have now returned to my iPhone 4s and am looking forward to the new launch haha! 🙂 xxx

  10. August 18, 2014 / 10:44 pm

    So sorry but is it okay for you to delete my earlier comment? The link to my blog that I posted had a typo and was directing it to a different site. Again, sorry about this.

    Reflection of Sanity

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:09 pm

      Of course!! I’ll go back and look for it and delete it for you! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:04 pm

      Aww thank you for reading!! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:02 pm

      Aww thank you very much!! 🙂 xxx

  11. August 19, 2014 / 12:51 pm

    It sounds really good! My husband has a Galaxy phone and I hate it because neither of us could really figure out how to use it properly, but I’d really like to try this little gadget!

    http://bellapummarola.blogspot.it/

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 3:01 pm

      Aww thank you for your comment!! Yes I have to say overall I prefer the simplicity of my iPhone and still use it now but for bloggers and people on the go I think it’ll be pretty handy!!! 🙂 xxx

    • sprinkles
      August 19, 2014 / 4:58 pm

      🙂 xxx

  12. August 20, 2014 / 9:26 am

    Εχω πάρει το Samsung S4 mini… και πραγματακι μου εχει λύσει τα χερια σχεδόν για τα πάντα. Και να φανταστεις οτι ηταν απο τα πιο φτηνα στην κατηγορια του.

    • sprinkles
      August 26, 2014 / 12:29 pm

      To Samsung einai polli kalo alla ksana xrisomopio to iPhone – gia mena einai kallitero giato den exei virus kai ta lipa alla perimeno to septembrio na do ta kainouria pou tha kanoune announce!! Filakia!! 🙂 xx

  13. October 5, 2014 / 4:21 pm

    I have this phone and really love it I had the Galaxy S3 prior and the S1 as well Very happy with the whole line I felt I needed something a bit bigger and that I could do more things with when I am on the go for my blog. I see the 4 is coming out soon, but I will stick to my Note 3 for a while more. Great phones for sure, I don’t feel the need for an Iphone.

    Love your site by the way!
    Rosemary

    • sprinkles
      October 7, 2014 / 9:50 pm

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment – it’s a shame that it didn’t work out for me but at the same time I did at least get to try the phone albeit for a few days – it’s lovely and wonderful for people on the go, the bigger screen definitely helps but sadly didn’t work out! 🙁 xxx

  14. October 5, 2014 / 4:23 pm

    It is too bad the person at the phone store couldn’t fix your virus problem or even at Samsung. I would think they would just give you a new phone to be honest, hope you can maybe try the Note 4 as I think you will be pleased with it.

    • sprinkles
      October 7, 2014 / 9:50 pm

      It is a shame but hopefully I will try the note 4, I have purchased an iPhone 6 plus and I am in love with it – review on it coming soon 🙂 xxx

Thank you for your lovely comments, all are read! You can also tweet @layladbeauty with any questions! x